Meet the nominees for the National Indigenous Fashion Awards 2020 – VOGUE


VOGUE reports on the National Indigenous Fashion Awards 2020, for which Ikuntji Artists are nominated for the Textile Design and Community collaboration categories!

Read the full article here

Following the success of Country to Couture, an annual event held as part of the Darwin Aboriginal Art Fair, the Darwin Aboriginal Art Fair Foundation (DAAFF) with the support of the Northern Territory Government have launched the National Indigenous Fashion Awards (NIFA), with 2020 as its inaugural year.

Developed to provide a global platform to celebrate innovation, diversity and ethical practices of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander creatives, as well as contribute to building of this sector, NIFA serves to recognise the outstanding work and practice of First Nations fashion figures, textile and fashion designers.

In addition to recognition, award recipients will also be provided with opportunities for sustainable growth, including small business development, industry mentoring, financial support and promotion, and skills development by major public institutions and key fashion media.

For its first year, NIFA has nominated 33 designers and artists across six different categories, with its inaugural ceremony to be live streamed across NITV’s social media channels. The virtual ceremony will take place a day before the Darwin Aboriginal Art Fair’s very own digital-only program for 2020 kicking off on August 6, the online event ideated to comply with current social restrictions to ensure that Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists and arts lovers are still able to connect, this time in an immersive online format.

“Showcasing vibrant Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander traditions in new contemporary forms enables us to share the powerful stories which have connected Australia’s First Nations Peoples to this country since time immemorial,” explained NIFA creative director, Nina Fitzgerald, in a press release. “Fashion is a medium which transcends cultural boundaries, and can be the vehicle to bring people together to celebrate Australia’s rich heritage and vibrant cultures.”

Ahead of the virtual ceremony on August 5, scroll on to meet the 33 nominees for the National Indigenous Fashion Awards 2020.

Cultural Adornment and Wearable Art Award—recognises worn items, created as fine or expressive art, used to define or express culture:
Lillardya Allirra Briggs-Houston from Ngarru Miimi
Peggy Griffiths from Waringarri Aboriginal Arts
Jan Griffiths from Waringarri Aboriginal Arts
Debra Beale of Debra Beale Jewellery at Boomalli Art Gallery
Lisa Waup

Textile Design Award—recognises designs of woven, knitted or other textile constructions, as well as dyed, printed or surface ornamented textiles:
Lillardia Allirra Briggs-Houston from Ngarru Miimi
Ivy Nargoodah, Eva Nargoodah and Margaret Albert of Rukaji Designs, from Mangkaja Arts Resource Agency
Kieren Karritpul from Merrepen Arts Language & Culture
Dymphna Kerinauia, Kaye Brown, Michelle Woody, Nina Lydwina Puruntatameri, Cornelia Tipuamantumirri, and Bernadette Mungatopi at North, from Munupi Association Arts and Crafts Association, Jilamara Arts and Crafts Association & Ngaruwanajirri Arts
Ikuntji Artists
Selina Nadjowh from Injalak Arts Centre

Community Collaboration Award—recognises of effective and productive relationships between Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities and the textile and fashion industry:
Julie Shaw of MAARA Collective with Bula’bula Aboriginal Corporation
Hopevale Art x QUT with Guuliil of Hope Vale Arts and Cultural Centre
People, Culture & Country, a QLD State Schools Art Project
Babbarra Women’s Centre with Publisher Textiles
Lisa Gorman (Gorman) and Tommy May, Sonia Kurarra, Daisy Japulija, Nada Rawlins, Lisa Uhl from Mangkaja Arts
Marnin Studio Women’s Resource Centre with Design Within Country
Ikuntji Artists with Magpie Goose
Kaiela Arts Artists with Spacecraft Studio
Tennant Creek Aunties for Rise-Ngurrajuta

Environmental and Social Contribution Award—recognises excellence and leadership in environmental and social development understanding, and practice in relation to textiles and fashion:
Ninti One Limited
Anindilyakwa Arts for Bush Dye
Liandra Gaykamangu for Liandra Swim
Perina Drummond for Jira Models

Special Recognition Award—recognises a group, organisation, or individual that has shown exceptional contribution to the development of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander textiles and fashion:
Bede Tungutalum
Lenore Dembski for Paperbark Woman
Perina Drummond for Jira Models
Grace Lillian Lee
Selina Nadjowh for Injalak Arts

Fashion Design Award—recognises a commercial fashion label with a minimum of two collections of original design of clothing, jewellery or accessories:
Liandra Gaykamangu for Liandra Swim
Julie Shaw for MAARA Collective
Denni Francisco for Ngali
Cheryl Creed for Murrii Quu Couture

Visit event website.